Bangkok, December 1st, 2021 – The Thai Tourism Authority (TAT) would like to announce the latest announcement in the Royal Thai Government Gazette, which from today has further adjusted the color zones for different provinces and has reduced the number of ‘Blue’ Zone ‘destinations from 17 through 26 provinces and see more COVID-19 curbs eased nationwide.

This means that almost all shops and activities in the Blue Zone destinations can still be opened in “New Normal” mode. This includes all shopping facilities, convenience stores, markets, cinemas and theaters, sports facilities, hairdressing salons and barber shops, massage and spa shops, beauty and beauty clinics and tattoo shops. Restaurants and catering establishments can also resume their normal opening times. Meetings, events and trade fairs can also be held normally without a limit to the number of participants.

However, all kinds of entertainment venues, including pubs, bars, and karaoke shops across the country, are said to remain closed.

Similar relaxed measures for the Blue Zone provinces have also been extended to the 24 Yellow Zone provinces, with the exception of events and activities that must be organized with fewer than 1,000 participants.

The COVID-19 restrictions were also further relaxed in the provinces in the red and orange zones, with shopping malls, markets, convenience stores and cinemas being allowed to resume normal opening hours. Restaurants and restaurants in the orange zone can resume their normal opening hours, while in the red zones they have to close at 11 p.m. The sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages for dine-in customers remains prohibited in the orange and red zones.

Meetings and events in the red zones can be organized for less than 500 participants. Meanwhile, provinces in the orange zone can organize more engaging activities; Sports tournaments, food fairs and the like for no more than 1,000 participants.

Thailand’s color zones for COVID-19 control from December 1, 2021:

26 provinces of the “Blue Zone” withh pilot tourist destinations

Central region: Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang District only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-Am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin, and Nong Kae districts only) and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern region: Chanthaburi (only for the districts of Mueang and Tha Mai), Chon Buri (only for Bang Lamung, Ko Si Chang, Pattaya and Si Racha districts and only Bang Sarey and Na Jomtien subdistricts in Sattahip district), Rayong (only for Ko Samet), and Stepped (only for the districts of Koh Chang and Ko Kut).

Northern region: Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim and Mae Taeng districts only), Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen and Wiang Pa Pao districts only) and Loei (Chiang Khan District only).

Northeast region: Buri Ram (Mueang District only), Khon Kaen (only the districts of Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang and Ubolratana), Nakhon Ratchasima (Districts Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio and Wang Nam Khiao), Nong Khai (Mueang, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only) and Udon Thani (Only in Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom, and Nong Han districts).

Southern region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (only Ko Phayam) and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan and Ko Tao only).

24 areas under strict surveillance or provinces of the yellow zone

Northern region: Kamphaeng Phet, Loei *, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phichit, Phrae, Sukhothai, Uthai Thani and Uttaradit and Northeast region: Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Buri Ram *, Kalasin, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai *, Roi Et, Sakhon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin *, and Yasothon.

23 controlled areas or orange zone provinces

Central region: Ang Thong, Chai Nat, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Phetchaburi *, Ratchaburi, Samut Prakan *, Samut Sakhon, Samut Songkhram, Sing Buri, Suphan Buri; Eastern region: Chachoengsao and Chon Buri *; Northern region: Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Phetchabun, and Phitsanulok; Northeast region: Chaiyaphum, Udon Thani *, and Ubon Ratchathani, and Southern region: Ranong *.

23 strictly controlled areas or provinces of the red zone

Central region: Ayutthaya * and Prachuap Khiri Khan *; Eastern region: Chanthaburi *Prachin Buri, Rayong *, and Stepped *; Northern region: Chiang Mai * and Chiang Rai *; Northeast region: Khon Kaen *, Nakhon Ratchasima *, Sa Kaeo and Saraburi and Southern region: Chumphon, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phatthalung, Satun, Songkhla, Surat Thani *, Trang and Yala.

* With the exception of areas designated as pilot tourist destinations in the “Blue Zone”.

This press release is for reference only and it is particularly important to check back frequently at to keep up to date with what is still a very fluid and rapidly changing situation.

The post Thailand increases the Blue Zone targets to 26 and eases more COVID-19 restrictions nationwide appeared first TAT newsroom.

Read more here